quotations

Have not been posting. I figured with all that free time I’ll be getting the next two weeks I could construct posts with a lesser dose of ditz. Work days have also grown a teeny bit longer.

Or so I excuse myself with. I really have been spending my evenings engrossed with engaging conversations, rowdy games and reading “The Elegance of the Hedgehog.”  A wonderfully pretentious book that’s quite full of itself, but then again I tend to be biased against books which are really minor philosophical treatises disguised as leisure reading.

However, hidden between the almost pedagogical lines are gems of phrases that cause me to pause and ruminate. Here’s a line I really like, used in the context of describing the potential of a child,

“..just waiting to see the butterfly emerge from its cocoon, not knowing, yet trusting, the purpose of its wings.” 

I’m sure lines like that are a dime a dozen, but this one somehow struck a chord and I’d like to remember it so.

Leave a Reply

